Life Update!

Tis been a while since I’ve blogged. Got loads of stuff happening.

First of all, some random photos i took at the new Iluma mall in Bugis. They were having a cosplay exhibition and I just had to stick my nose together with some of the suits.

Darth Vader is not the only one with a Lightsaber MWAH HA HA HA!!! *takes an asthmatic breath*

Darth Vader isn't the only one with a lightsaber.. MWAH HA HA!! *takes an asthmatic breath* (pardon the screwed up face)

Wassup Predator?

Strange attempt at Alien cosplay, humans just don't quite cut the Alien stature

Yup, enough of weird rubber suits. Tams has been recovering really quickly, she can resume normal activities but just has to be careful not to strain her back. She also came down with a bad bout of diarrhoea. Really bad and nasty stuff.

Anyway, I also finally collected my pay from working at NETS. It’s not a lot but it’s enough for me. AND HELL WAS IT AN EXPERIENCE. Personally I will never work at jobs like that again. I’m not being elitist, but honestly I’m not cut out for it. Sales isn’t for me. I can do it for a while, but definitely not for months on end. I’ll die. Because I work hard at it dammit. I don’t lepak (slack) like my other colleagues. I try to sell the most number of cards that I can. Some people sell just one at the end of the day. Sorry I can’t disclose what I sell otherwise my head might roll.

So basically I worked for about less than a week at some NETS booth just before the Chinese New Year week. My mom’s insane idea to ship me off to work at NETS because she thought that I was too free at home and spending time with my darling girl is an absolute waste of time. I wasn’t giving tuition yet, that’s why. Now I earn so much more at tuition. NETS pays me about $6-7 an hour, tuition pays me more than $25 an hour with flexible work times. No prizes for guessing what I’d rather do. I stand for hours on end and endure really whacked-out customers. After the whole experience I was so glad I do not have to serve old aunties or grannies. They’ll pester you forever and burn you to death with their satanic stares if you do not give them an extra pack of angpows or some goodies like that. And hey, if you don’t win the lucky dips, it’s not my fault. So stop yelling at me!! Thank goodness, my patience didn’t short circuit at work. I made a few friends, I didn’t put on a nasty face so I guess I was quite approachable and I made an effort to mix but it’s difficult cuz they’ve been together for too long. I was among the oldest there too, most were sec school students waiting for poly. But they look so mature! Gosh, I thought this girl was over 20 but she’s 16. And I have 16 year olds calling me Ah Di (younger brother). I guess I do look very young. Haha.

Anyway, if there’s one thing that I took home from this whole experience is that I totally salute sales people. It’s tough shit and I promised myself never to give them a hard time. I’ll give them a smile and congratulate them on a job well done. There were some kind souls that I met who gave me encouragement, a pat on the back and bought me drinks. I just hope I can be that kind of person to them.

AND AND AND, collecting pay is a pain in the ass. A SUPER BIG PAIN. Gosh, I stopped work in Feb, I chased my manyzer till April before I got my measly pay. BAH! Goodbye to part-time work!

My super friendly and lovable colleague whose name I can never spell poking our mascot who was under attack by a swarm of young children. Get the joke? (swarm...bee mascot..) ..nvm..

Alrights, enough ranting (note: these are rants and are not true, they are but mere realities conjured within the crevices of my human mind). On to food reveiws!

Tams and I went to cafe cartel one week and ordered the set lunch. Their set lunches are at $9.50 nett and change every day. It was a Monday and the menu was either seafood spaghetti with mushroom sauce or Hawaiian chicken chop. It comes with soup of the day and a drink. We ordered both to try.

The spaghetti is epic bland but spamming cheese on it will do the trick. It becomes a little more creamier and saltier. Spaghetti portion was quite little for my appetite but should fill small appetites well. Seafood pieces such as fish and prawn were rather generous. The cheese was a strange variant of parmesan. It’s much stronger than your Pizza Hut parmesan and more orange.. Ohwells, it made the spaghetti taste much better and more flavourful.

Hawaiian chicken chop was much better. Very tender and tears off easily. Didn’t really use the knife that much, just had to hold the chicken down and slowly peel the meat off. Very tasty. Their Hawaiian flavour very much resembles Pizza Hut’s Hawaiian pizzas with pineapples and stuff. Sweet but still tastes very much…of chicken.

And the mushroom soup was heavenly. Drinks came in huge ass glasses.

Hawaiian chicken chop

Seafood pasta

Wonderful mushroom soup! Thick, creamy, rich and bursting with mushroom. Authentic cream of mushroom!

A very pleased Tams

Overall, I think it was a very good meal and very worth it. I was very pleased with the service staff too! Jia you! Tams and I salute the staff working at Cafe Cartel @AMK hub! (Cuz tams spilled her drink and one of the waitresses gave her a slightly smaller cup of peach tea) Simply excellent.

Ok, that shall be the end of this life update

Leave a Reply

