Random thoughts

I should be studying but oh heck, i shall consider this as GP training…
 
I was waiting for the MRT to go cut hair and I was thinking, what if some mad man suddenly pushed me onto the tracks just as the train was to arrive? Will it be murder? Yes definitely, but our dear madman won’t get the death sentence, simply because he was mad. I would have been killed by an act of madness. Ok, now let’s see this in another perspective. What if after I was run over by the MRT, the mad man draws a dagger, faces skyward and yells "You heretics must be silenced in <Insert cultist God name>’s name, <Insert cultist God name>, receive my spirit!" then stabs himself to death. Is it an act of madness or act of terrorism? Now the boundary is abit blurred. If this man was stopped from stabbing himself, will he receive the death sentence? Well, he is obviously deluded. He HAS control over what he wants to do and, by his own will, killed me. That’s cold blooded murder isn’t it? But he has been brainwashed, his delusion has dictated what he has done, so in a sense he can’t control himself from killing me. That would make him a madman and spared the death sentence right? So should terrorists be spared the death sentence of exterminated.
 
On a seperate note, I was thinking, how would my loved ones react when they found out I was killed by an act of madness. I had no part in it, no chance to fight back, not  my fault. In other words, I died for nothing. How would people react to that? Honestly, I would forgive my murderer. When you stand on the boundary between life and death, about to cross over into the darkness and look back. You’d realise that vengeance is indeed a rather petty thing. But how would my loved ones feel? I know my parents will sue the shit out of a reckless driver who killed me in a road accident. Everyone will feel sad. If the incident was published in the newspaper, people will feel pity. Now I know how it feels to be a relative/friend of a terror victim, why America swears to destroy those involved in the 911 incident. Their attack on Iraq might have been blinded by vengeance. Now that the dust has settled, they have realised their mistake and they MUST set things right for their major blunder.
 
 
Ok, now I’ve just cut my hair. I just trimmed it and thinned it actually. I want to keep my hair long during the end of year break so I’m not cutting it too much now. But I was thinking, would my hair be too long for my PW Oral Presentation? Would they penalise me for my long hair? And I was thinking WHY SHOULD THEY? I always argued for long hair. The Japanese males keep long hair. They have long hair when they go to school, go to work, make important business deals. Why not in Singapore? A Japanese boy who migrated over and attended his first day of lessons in a local school might get the shock of his life when teachers scold him for long hair. Let’s consider the possible reasons why all boys should ideally sport a slope and short hair.
 
1. Neat, formal looking
2. Easy to maintain
 
I would think reason number one is the main reason. But honestly, WHY SO SERIOUS? Must all boys sport the same hairstyle? Girls have varying hairstyles, why can’t guys? Is it Singapore’s highly structured and organised societal system that requires boys to have their hair short? It makes guys look neat, that I do not deny. But if a guy leaves his hair long and styles it well, like the Japanese, why not? He looks, neat AND stylish. Long hair won’t impede your academic pursuits, stop you from securing important business deals nor obstruct your social relations. It’s time we Singaporeans, let loose. When we loosen up, creativity flows. Fresh ideas naturally fall from the sky when people are free to do what they want. And a good way to start is from our physical appearance. What’s with ties, tucked in shirts and belts? What’s with uniforms anyway? If uniforms are a must, design a loose, comfortable personalisable uniform. Our current uniforms often sacrifice comfort for neatness. The VJ uniform is FUC*ing HOT!!! And students who do wear their ties for the whole day do not button the first button, they let the tie hang loose. Buttoning up is suicide in Singaporean weather. Again, comfort is sacrificed and for what reason? Neatness, comformity. Yes, students must take pride in their appearance, not dress like a yahoo. I agree, but don’t you think that students will take even MORE pride when they are able to choose what to wear, to simply be themselves? Why did the Be Yourself Day receive so much fanfare, because students LOVED it! Let’s move on, a new paradigm shift awaits.
 
I can’t wait for this generation of youths to take over Singapore. I will help spearhead our unanimous call for a new paradigm shift.
 
 
Interesting thoughts while waiting for the MRT and after cutting hair.
Leave a Reply

